Jennifer Johnson
The first female superintendent in the 97-year-old Glendale, Ariz., Union High School District is Jennifer Johnson. She had served as the district’s associate superintendent of curriculum and instruction for two years and the assistant superintendent for human resources for seven years. Johnson has spent the entirety of her career in Glendale, including posts as principal of Thunderbird High School for six years and assistant principal at two secondary schools. Johnson earned her Ed.D. from Arizona State University.

Steven Jordahl
In his 25th year as an educator, Steve Jordahl has assumed the superintendency of the 9,500-student St. Cloud, Minn., Area Schools. He most recently was superintendent in 800-student Barnesville, Minn., for three years. Jordahl’s record includes three principalships in Alexandria, Minn., and a principalship in Albert Lea, Minn. He spent 11 years in teaching posts in a pair of Minnesota communities, Willmar and Litchfield. Jordahl earned his doctoral degree in educational administration from University of North Dakota.

Larry P. Nybladh
After serving as superintendent of the Moorhead, Minn., Area Public Schools since January 2000, Larry Nybladh is assuming the top berth in Grand Forks, N.D. Before arriving in Moorhead, Nybladh was an assistant professor in the department of educational leadership at the University of North Dakota. He also has worked as superintendent of the Central Cass School District in Casselton, N.D., from 1989 through 1997. Nybladh holds a Ph.D. from Cornell University, where he studied as a Bush Leadership Fellow.

Helen C. Sobehart
A 17-year member of AASA, Helen Sobehart has moved into the presidency of Cardinal Stritch University in Milwaukee, Wis., the first lay presidency in its 71-year history. Sobehart was associate provost at Duquesne University in Pittsburgh, where she previously directed the Interdisciplinary Doctoral Program for Educational Leaders. A former superintendent of the Fox Chapel schools in Pittsburgh, Sobehart was a 2008 recipient of AASA’s Effie Jones Humanitarian Award. She holds a doctorate from Carnegie Mellon University.

Adrian Cline
’s fascination with all things Franklin Delano Roosevelt started innocently enough: His mother gave him a colorized photo clipping following the president’s death. Cline, superintendent in DeSoto County, Fla., for 20 years, now lays claim to roughly 1,200 FDR artifacts. The memorabilia – all documented as authentic -- includes every front-page article about FDR from Tampa Tribune; a 1934 portrait; documents signed during his time as assistant secretary of the navy, governor of New York and president; an Oval Office notepad; and a bicycle that belonged to Eleanor Roosevelt (parked in a showcase outside his office). Most stuff is on display at his office with just two small items at his house. Quips Cline: “My wife won’t let me bring anything home. She says it doesn’t go with the décor.”


John Box, from vice president of product development and support to senior vice president for education, Junior Achievement, Colorado Springs, Colo.

Susan Clark, from assistant superintendent, Henry County Schools, Locust Grove, Ga., to superintendent, Peach County Schools, Fort Valley, Ga.

Larry Francois, from superintendent, Lakewood School District, Lakewood, Wash., to superintendent, Northshore School District, Bothell, Wash.

Carol A. Hansen, from superintendent, Central Community Schools, DeWitt, Iowa, to chief executive officer, Girl Scouts of Northeast Kansas and Northwest Missouri

Jere Hochman, from superintendent, Amherst, Mass., to superintendent, Bedford, N.Y.

C.J. Huff, from superintendent, Eldon, Mo., to superintendent, Joplin, Mo.

Deborah Hunter-Harvill, from principal, Owen Academy at Pelham K-8, Detroit, Mich., to superintendent, Westwood Heights Public Schools, Flint, Mich.

Gary Norris, from superintendent, Sarasota, Fla., to superintendent, Waterloo, Iowa

John W. Sullivan, from superintendent, Unified School District II, Meriden, Conn., and AASA Governing Board member, to interim principal, East Lyme High School, East
Lyme, Conn.

Fred Frick, superintendent, Holmen, Wis., School District

Warren Jacobson, superintendent, Glendale, Ariz., Union High School District

Dewitt Jones, superintendent, Waterloo, Iowa, Community Schools

Steve W. Quick, superintendent, Florence School District 2, Pamplico, S.C.

Art Rainwater, superintendent, Madison, Wis., Metropolitan School District

Marianne Bartley, superintendent, Lebanon, Pa., received 2007 Athena Award by Lebanon Valley Chamber of Commerce

Shirley Miles, associate director for education and principal deputy director, Department of Defense Education Activity, awarded 2008 University of Denver Morgridge College of Education’s Leaders in Learning Award

Evelyn B. Kipp, 87, retired superintendent, Newark, Calif., May 20

News about AASA members’ promotions, retirements, honors and deaths should be addressed to: Editor, The School Administrator, 801 N. Quincy St., Suite 700, Arlington, VA 22203. Fax: 703-528-2146. E-mail: