Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award


EffieThe Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award is directly related to the AASA equity goal re: vulnerable children and superintendent pipeline issues.  The Award honors leadership in educational equity and excellence. Those recognized must be AASA members who evidence commitment to the advancement and mentorship of women and minorities in positions of leadership and/or demonstrate a commitment to address social justice issues among children, youth and adults in schools. Jones was a school administrator, teacher, counselor, organizer of the Office of Minority Affairs at AASA and a champion of women and minorities in educational leadership. Equity and opportunity were the hallmark of her life work and closing the academic, health and social gap between the children who have and those who don’t was one of the cardinal intents of her rigorous efforts to increase the numbers of women and minority school system leaders. She created both a space where minority and women educators could be nurtured, supported, mentored, challenged and where the differing needs of children could be addressed. Because of her commitment to equity and excellence, the field of school leadership is richer, more complex, and more accessible to a wide range of qualified educators and AASA’s focus on vulnerable children and youth is sharp and unrelenting.


 Download the FAQ here.

The award is open to any AASA member who meets the criteria. 

Nomination Procedures
All nominations are reviewed and judged by an independent committee external to AASA. Entries are judged based on how closely they match award criteria.

To download the 2023 Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award application and guidelines, Click Here 

With questions contact Kayla Jackson at kjackson@aasa.org or at 703-875-0725

 2022 Award Recipients:

Sharon Adams-Taylor, former associate executive director of AASA and Luvelle Brown, superintendent of Ithaca City Public Schools (N.Y.) will be honored by AASA with the Dr. Effie H. Jones Humanitarian Award which will be presented at AASA's 2022 National Conference on Education in Nashville, Tenn. This award recognizes leaders who exemplify the leadership qualities modeled by the late Dr. Effie Hall Jones, an educator in Montgomery County, Md., and a former AASA associate executive director in the 1980s and early ‘90s.  The award will be presented by Dan Domenech and Paul Imhoff during the First General Session on Thursday February 17, 2022, in the Nashville Music City Convention Center from 4:15 to 6:15 p.m. The honorees will also be recognized at the luncheon honoring Dr. Jones’ commitment to advancing women and minorities into educational leadership positions and to fighting for equity and excellence for all students. This event is scheduled for Friday, February 18, 2022, from 12:30 p.m. to 2:30 p.m. in the Nashville Music City Convention Center – Room 201.   

Complete details about the award recipients can be found in the official AASA press release. 

Read the press release

Past Award Recipients (PDF)


Staff Contact:
Stephanie St. John