AASA joined with six other national rural education organizations to applaud today's FCC vote to raise the E-Rate program funding cap:

AASA, The School Superintendents Association, the Association of Educational Service Agencies, the National Association of Federally Impacted Schools, the National Rural Education Association, the National Rural Education Advocacy Coalition, Organizations Concerned with Rural Education, and the Rural School and Community Trust issued the following statement in response to today’s historic E-Rate vote:

“We commend the FCC for their unwavering focus on addressing the rural connectivity gap that persists for our nation’s schools and libraries as they worked through the hard work of modernizing E-Rate over the past two years. We have long supported the E-Rate program and are pleased to see the collaborative effort culminate in today’s historic vote. Raising the E-Rate funding cap by $1.5 billion and revising the E-Rate program’s definition of rural go hand-in-hand with helping connect rural schools, libraries and communities and ensuring they can all benefit from expanded broadband connectivity. We applaud the FCC’s leadership and look forward to helping our rural schools and libraries implement the new E-Rate program to more fully address current and future connectivity needs.”