AASA Women In School Leadership Initiative

More Than a Power Lunch: Building Networks to Support and Advance Women in School Leadership


  AboutConsortium Leaders l Aspiring Leaders l Resources l Events l  Awards |Press   

2019 National Women’s Leadership Consortium

You are invited to join the only cohort specifically designed for women in top positions of leadership in school systems, corporations and nonprofit organizations.

 The 2019 meetings will be held in Alexandria, Va., May 14 -16 and Oct. 21-23, 2019. 

  To pay with the credit card click here. 

 To pay with PO click here.

  2018 Consortium

 AASA National Women's Leadership Consortium

Established in 2016, the AASA National Women's Leadership Consortium is designed to bring together successful women thought leaders in the education and business/nonprofit community to identify and address barriers women face when aspiring to the top leadership positions in K-12 education. 

We are grateful to the 10 women leaders who participated in the 2016-2017 inaugural group  and thank them for their contributions in the groundbreaking work. Funding for inaugural group was made possible by the generous support of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Building upon the successes of inaugural think tank, AASA has partnered with Horace Mann to relaunch the Consortium in 2018. The partnership provides new opportunities for more women leaders to participate. With the relaunch, the Consortium has increased in size from 10 to 25 members.  

The members of the 2018 National Women’s Leadership Consortium include the following:


 Boucek Sara Boucek, associate director, Illinois Association of School Administrators, Springfield, Illinois
 Rhonda Rhonda Caldwell, deputy director, Kentucky Association of School Administrators, Frankfort, Kentucky
 Cook-Robinson Wanda Cook-Robinson, superintendent, Oakland Schools, Waterford, Michigan
 Dixon Talisa L. Dixon, superintendent Cleveland Heights-University Heights City School District, University Heights, Ohio
 Grace April Grace, superintendent, Shawnee Public School District, Shawnee, Oklahoma
 Hawes Kathryn Hawes, superintendent, Regional School Unit 21, Kennebunk, Maine
 Hazelton Marnie Hazelton, superintendent, Roosevelt Union School District, Freeport, New York
 Huber Catherine Huber, superintendent, Alexander Central School District, Alexander, New York
 Johnson Crystal Johnson, superintendent, Rossville-Alvin Community Unit School District 7, Rossville, Illinois
 Kaczkowski Melissa Kaczkowski, superintendent, Roselle School District 12, Roselle, Illinois
 Maney Stephanie Maney-Hartlaub, leadership development director, Schools That Can Milwaukee, Milwaukee, Wisconsin
 Marlette Julie M. Marlette, director, governmental relations, New York State School Boards Association, Latham, New York
 McDuffy Kristine McDuffy, superintendent, Edmonds School District, Lynnwood, Washington
 Morrow Lory D. Morrow, superintendent, Lincoln County School District, Lincolnton, North Carolina
 Kalish Michelle Mrakovich-Kalish, superintendent, Newbury Local School District, Newbury, Ohio
 Myers Lesli C. Myers, superintendent, Brockport Central School District, Brockport, New York
 Nadeau Meredith Nadeau, superintendent, Newmarket School District (SAU31), Newmarket, New Hampshire
 Orzel Courtney L. Orzel, superintendent, Lemont-Bromberek School District 113A, Lemont, Illinois
 Rouse Theresa R. Rouse, superintendent, Joliet Public Schools District 86, Joliet, Illinois
 Santiago-Marullo Dawn A.  Santiago-Marullo, superintendent, Victor Central School District, Victor, New York
 Saylor Michelle Saylor superintendent, Bellefonte Area School District, Bellefonte, Pennsylvania
 Shelmidine Joanne Shelmidine, superintendent, New York Mills Union Free School District, New York Mills, New York
 Steel Ronna Steel, superintendent, Hillsdale County Intermediate School District, Hillsdale, Michigan
 Townsend Sue Townsend, superintendent, Rankin Co School District, Brandon, Mississippi
 Walker Cynthia Walker, director of member development, Buckeye Association of School Administrators, Columbus, Ohio

AASA HM logos

Staff Contact: Valerie Truesdale, Assistant Executive Director, Leadership Network, at vtruesdale@aasa.org.